Board of Directors

Ernest Sampias


Ernest Sampias is our Chief Executive Officer and has served as a director on our board of directors since May 1, 2004. His experience includes financial roles for both private and public companies within the information technologies, telecommunications, and directories industries. These financial roles were as Chief Financial Officer for Sensis Pty Ltd, in Melbourne, Australia, Chief Financial Officer for SpectraLink Corporation, McDATA Corporation, US West Dex, Local Matters, Inc., and Convergent Communications, Inc. Mr Sampias also serves on the board of directors for BioFuel Energy Corporation as its Audit Committee Chairman. Mr. Sampias graduated from Indiana University with a Bachelors of Science degree in Business with distinction, and holds a Masters of Taxation degree from DePaul University in Chicago. He is a Certified Public Accountant and a member in the Financial Executives Institute and American Institute of Certified Public Accountants.

Jonathan Brooks


Jonathan Brooks became Chairman of our board of directors on December 1, 2011, having previously served as a director on our board of directors since May 2004. Mr. Brooks is currently a director of Aveva Group plc, a leading software provider to the plant, power and marine industries, and IP Group Plc, which commercializes intellectual property originating from leading UK universities, both of which are listed on the LSE (London Stock Exchange). Between 1995 and 2002, Mr. Brooks was Chief Financial Officer and a director of ARM Holdings plc, a company listed on the LSE and NASDAQ National Market. Since 2002, he has held a series of non executive board positions for both listed and venture capital backed companies. Mr. Brooks holds a Bachelor’s degree in economic and social science from the University of Wales, an MBA from Manchester Business School and is a fellow of the Chartered Institute of Management Accountants.

Ken Traub


Ken Traub has served as a director on our board of directors since June 2013. He has extensive experience as a senior executive, director and investor in public companies.  Mr Traub sits on the Board of iPass, Inc., MRV Communications, Inc., DSP Group, Inc., Athersys, Inc., TIX Corporation and Omnego, Inc.  He is the President and CEO of Ethos Management LLC, an investment and advisory firm, and President and CEO of American Bank Note Holographics, Inc., a world leader in the origination, production and marketing of mass-produced secure holograms.  Mr Traub graduated from Harvard Business School with an MBA after achieving a BA from Emory College.

Mike Windram


Mike Windram has served as a director on our board of directors since June 2007. He has over 30 years of experience in research and development, engineering and engineering management roles. His early experience from 1971 to 1990 was in research and development in the Independent Broadcasting Authority. Subsequently he has held the positions of Executive Manager (R&D) in NTL; Director, Advanced Products Division, NTL; Managing Director, Digi-Media Vision (DMV) Ltd; Managing Director, NDS Broadcast and Senior Vice President, NDS. These divisions and companies provided systems, equipment and software for use in digital broadcasting applications world-wide. His most recent position was as a member of the board of Tandberg Television ASA. Dr Windram graduated from the University of Cambridge with a Bachelor of Arts degree in Natural Sciences (Physics) and also holds Master of Arts and Doctor of Philosophy degrees from that university. He is a Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering, a Fellow of the Institution of Engineering and Technology and a Chartered Engineer.

Richard Pearce


Richard Pearce is our Chief Financial Officer and has served as a director on our board of directors since March 2007. Mr. Pearce has served as Chief Financial Officer of Xyratex Ltd and its predecessor companies since September 2003 and previously served as Treasurer and as Group Tax Manager following our management buy-out from IBM in 1994. Prior to joining Xyratex Ltd, Mr. Pearce held a number of financial positions within IBM over a period of six years. Mr. Pearce is a member of the Chartered Institute of Management Accountants. Mr. Pearce also serves as a director on the boards of directors of certain of our subsidiaries.

Steve Sanghi


Steve Sanghi has served as a director on our board of directors since May 1, 2004. Mr. Sanghi currently serves as Director and President of Microchip Technology, Inc. since his appointment in August 1990, as CEO since October 1991, and as chairman of the board of directors since October 1993. Mr. Sanghi was previously the chairman of the board of Adflex Solutions, and a member of the board of directors of both Artisoft and Vivid Semiconductor. Mr. Sanghi worked for Intel Corporation from 1978 to 1988 in various engineering and management positions, including General Manager of Intel’s programmable memory operation. Mr. Sanghi received a Bachelor of Science in Electronics and Electrical Communications Engineering from Punjab Engineering College in India in 1975 and holds a Master's degree in Electrical and Computer Engineering from the University of Massachusetts in Amherst, Massachusetts.

Vadim Perelman


Vadim Perelman has served as a director on our board since April 2013. Mr. Perelman is the founder and has served as the Managing Member and Chief Investment Officer of Baker Street Capital Management LLC, the general partner of Baker Street Capital L.P., a private investment partnership that is currently our largest shareholder, since its inception in 2009. From 2007 to 2009, Mr. Perelman worked as a senior analyst at Force Capital Management, a fundamental value-focused investment fund. Mr. Perelman’s previous experience includes business development at Teknika Group and management consulting at L.E.K. Consulting. Mr. Perelman graduated from the University of California, Berkeley, with Bachelor of Arts degrees in Economics and Computer Science.